University of California, Riverside

Microbiology and Plant Pathology



Faculty


Faculty

 J Adaskaveg

Jim Adaskaveg

Email: Jim.Adaskaveg@ucr.edu
Office Location: 242 Fawcett Lab
Phone: (951) 827-7577

Professor of Plant Pathology - Plant Pathologist, Mycologist, and Epidemiologist
Biology, epidemiology, and ecology of plant pathogenic fungi
allen

Michael F. Allen

Email: Michael.Allen@ucr.edu

Distinguished Professor of the Graduate Division
Biology and ecology of microbial-plant-soil interactions
 aronson

Emma L. Aronson

Email: Emma.Aronson@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3411 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-4201

Assistant Professor
Soil microbial ecology and biogeochemistry
 Borkovich

Katherine Borkovich 

Email: Katherine.Borkovich@ucr.edu
Office Location: 1234B Genomics
Phone: (951) 827-2753

Chair; Professor of Plant Pathology & Fungal Cell Biologist/Biochemist
Fungal cell and molecular biology; functional genomics of fungi
 borneman

 James Borneman

 Email: James.Borneman@ucr.edu
 Office Location: 3407 Boyce Hall 
 Phone: (951) 827-3584

Professor & Vice Chair
Microbial Ecology
 coffey

 Michael D. Coffey

 Email: Michael.Coffey@ucr.edu
 Office Location: 2435 Boyce Hall 
 Phone: (951) 827-4764

Professor of Plant Pathology & Plant Pathologist
Phytophthora systematics, genetics, and pathology
 degnan

Patrick Degnan

Email: Patrick.Degnan@ucr.edu
Office Location: 2317A Webber Hall  
Phone: (951) 827-4115

Assistant Professor Microbiology
Bioinformatics, Computational Biology, Genomics, Microbial Ecology, Molecular Evolution, Regulation of Gene Expression, Human Gut Microbiomes
 ding

 Shou-Wei Ding

 Email: Shou-wei.Ding@ucr.edu
 Office Location: 3202A Genomics
 Phone: (951) 827-2341

Professor and Plant Pathologist
Molecular Virology
emma gachomo

Emma Gachomo

Email: Emma.Gachomo@ucr.edu
Office Location: 2491 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-2093

Assistant Professor of Plant Pathology & Microbiology and Assistant Plant Pathologist
sydney glassman

Sydney I. Glassman

Email: sydney.glassman@ucr.edu
Office Location: Boyce Hall 2469
Phone: (951)-827-6727

Assistant Professor of Plant Pathology & Microbiology

 

 hai

Rong Hai

Email: Rong.Hai@ucr.edu
Office Location: 4488 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-3910

Assistant Professor of Virology
 hsiao

Ansel Hsiao

Email: Ansel.Hsiao@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3263 Webber Hall
Phone: (951) 827-2525

Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Assistant Microbiologist

 jin

Hailing Jin

Email: Hailing.Jin@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3234B Genomics
Phone: (951) 827-7995

Professor & Molecular Geneticist
Gene regulation and signal transduction in plant immunity

 judelson

Howard Judelson

Email: Howard.Judelson@ucr.edu
Office Location: 1234A Genomics
Phone: (951) 827-4199

Professor of Plant Pathology
Molecular biology and genomics of oomycetes, with an emphasis on the growth and pathogenesis of Phytophthora
 ma

Wenbo Ma

Email: Wenbo.Ma@ucr.edu
Office Location: 1234C Genomics
Phone: (951) 827-4349

Professor of Plant Pathology and Plant Pathologist
Molecular Plant-Pathogen Interactions
 manosalva

Patricia Manosalva

Email: Patricia.Manosalva@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3485 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-3773

Assistant Professor & Director of the Avocado Rootstock Breeding Program- Plant Pathologist, Molecular Biologist and Biochemist
Molecular and genetic basis of plant immunity against oomycete pathogens with an emphasis on Phytophthora cinnamomi. Avocado Molecular-Assisted Breeding
 juliet morrison

Juliet Morrison 

Email: Juliet.Morrison@ucr.edu
Office Location: Boyce Hall 4490
Phone: (951) 827-5368

Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Plant Pathology

 

 ng

James Ng

Email: James.Ng@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3233 Webber Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-4239

Associate Professor and Associate Plant Pathologist
Plant Virology, virus-insect vector interactions
 putman

Alexander Putman

Email: Alexander.Putman@ucr.edu
Office Location: 238 Fawcett Lab 
Phone: (951) 827-4212

Assistant Specialist in Cooperative Extension and Assistant Plant Pathologist
 rao

A.L.N Rao

Email: A.Rao@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3259 Webber Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-3810

Professor of Plant Pathology & Microbiology
Molecular biology of virus-host interactions: Replication and genome packaging in RNA viruses infecting plants and insects.
 Roper

Caroline Roper

Email: Caroline.Roper@ucr.edu
Office Location: 3441 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-3510

Associate Professor of Plant Pathology & Plant Pathologist
Molecular basis of the host/pathogen interactions of vector borne plant pathogenic bacteria and the role of the phytobiome in plant health and disease tolerance.




 stajich

Jason E. Stajich

Email: Jason.Stajich@ucr.edu
Office Location: 1207K Genomics
Phone: (951) 827-2363

Associate Professor & Associate Bioinformaticist
Evolutionary and population genomics of fungi
 vidalakis

Georgios Vidalakis

Email: Georgios.Vidalakis@ucr.edu
Office Location: 2491 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-3763

Director of the Citrus Clonal Protection Program, Associate Specialist in Cooperative Extension, Plant Pathology & Associate Plant Pathologist & Lecturer
Citrus viral diseases

Cooperating Faculty Members

 

 xuemei chen

Xuemei Chen 

Email: Xuemei.chen@ucr.edu
Office Location: 4234A Genomics 
Phone: (951) 827-3988

Professor of Plant Cell and Molecular Biology 

Cell fate specification and stem cell regulation in flower development; molecular mechanisms of microRNA metabolism and RNA silencing
 isgouhi kaloshian

Isgouhi Kaloshian

Email: Isgouhi.Kaloshian@ucr.edu
Office Location: 2107A Genomics
Phone: (951) 827-3913

 Professor and Chair, Department of Nematology
 philip roberts

Philip Roberts

Email: Philip.Roberts@ucr.edu
Office Location: 2251 Spieth
Phone: (951) 827-7332

 

 Professor, Department of Nematology
 joel sachs

Joel Sachs

Email: Joel.Sachs@ucr.edu
Office Location: 5406 Boyce Hall 
Phone: (951) 827-6357

 

 

Associate Professor, Department of Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Contact Information

Department of Microbiology and Plant Pathology
Boyce Hall 1463

Tel: (951) 827-3598
Fax: (951) 827-4294
E-mail: margarita.flores@ucr.edu

Footer